Inner City District Advisory Committee Report No. 1-2020

INNER CITY DISTRICT ADVISORY COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 1-2020

To the Chair and Members Winnipeg Public School Board:

February 5, 2020

The Inner City District Advisory Committee reports as follows:

1. WSD 2020/2021 Draft Budget

The Secretary-Treasurer was in attendance to provide an overview of the 2020/2021 Draft Budget. The Committee was informed that on January 30, 2020, the Province of Manitoba announced funding for public education. The Committee was informed that the Manitoba government will increase funding for public schools by more than \$6.6 million for the 2020/2021 school year. Committee members were informed that school divisions also raise revenue through local education property taxes. The Committee was informed that the Manitoba government is again requesting that school divisions limit increases to education property taxes to a maximum of two per cent for the 2020/2021 school year.

The Committee was informed that for the 2020/2021 school year, the Board is proposing a stand pat budget which maintains all programs and services in the WSD including those programs and services that are not mandated by the province such as nursery program, therapy services, off campus programs and resource officers.

2. <u>Provincial K-12 Education Review</u>

The Committee was informed that the Commission would be releasing the report to the Minister of Education and Training in February 2020. It is anticipated that the report would be publically released in March 2020, which will include recommendations on the key topic areas identified by the Province. School Boards would not have the ability to provide input on the recommendations and would be obligated to implement the recommendations within the timelines established by the Province. The report and recommendations will be shared with parents including next steps to be in compliance with the direction from the Minister of Education.

The Committee was informed that additional information on any submissions made to the Commission can be found on the Manitoba Commission on K-12 Education.

The Committee was informed that the Province of Manitoba had suggested that WSD delay the by-election to fill the trustee vacancies for wards 3 and 4. The Committee was informed that the Province did not provide clarification on the request to delay the by-election.

Respectfully Submitted,

YIJIE CHEN Trustee Representative

Inner City District Advisory Committee Report No. 1-2020

IN ATTENDANCE:

Voting Representatives:

Children of the Earth School David Livingstone School Dufferin School Fort Rouge School General Wolfe School Hugh John Macdonald School Mulvey School Sister MacNamara School Strathcona School Victoria-Albert School Wellington School William Whyte School

Non-Voting/Resource Members

Community Support Worker, Children of the Earth Community Support Worker, Dufferin School Community Support Worker, Fort Rouge School Community Support Worker, King Edward School Community Support Worker, Mulvey School Community Support Worker, R.B. Russell School Community Support Worker, Sister MacNamara Community Support Worker, Strathcona School Community Support Worker, William Whyte School Community Member, Eagles Circle

Regrets:

Argyle Alternative High School King Edward School Machray School Niji Mahkwa School Norquay School Pinkham School

Administration:

Paul Kochan, Secretary-Treasurer & Chief Financial Officer Rob Riel, Director Brad Corbett, Director Pat Mainville, Principal, Argyle Alternative High School Chris Clarke, Acting Principal, Children of the Earth School Tim Cox, Principal, David Livingstone School Lisa Richardson, Vice-Principal, David Livingstone School Garth McAlpine, Principal, Dufferin School Melissa Asmundson, Vice-Principal, Dufferin School Stacie Edgar, Principal, Fort Rouge School Vinh Huvnh, Principal, Gordon Bell High School Matthew Adkins, Principal, Hugh John Macdonald School Tasia Karagiannis Bell, Vice-Principal, Hugh John Macdonald School Peter Correia, Principal, Mulvey School Debbie Gould, Principal, Niji Mahkwa School Marsha Missyabit, Vice-Principal, Niji Mahkwa School Joanne Sabourin, Vice-Principal, Norquay School Paul Krowiak, Principal, R.B. Russell High School Debbie Lenhardt Mair, Principal, Sister MacNamara Brenda Langton, Principal, Wellington School Daniel Braga, Vice-Principal, William Whyte School

Trustees:

Trustee Yijie Chen Trustee Betty Edel Trustee Arlene Reid